RSS

Lessons from the prayer of King Jehoshaphat – Introduction

13 Dec

There is something called modern Christianity which I think is an oxymoron. Brethren, there are no types of Christianity. No, there is only “one Body, and one Spirit …one hope… One Lord, one faith (that was once delivered to the saints), one baptism, one God and Father of all, Who is above all, and through all, and in you all.” If our Christianity is not Scriptural, we must ask ourselves if it is Christianity at all. Let’s replace the word “modern” with the words “so-called”. We would gain a lot of meaning and light in doing so. Christianity is no flowery bed of ease. Any victory is necessarily preceded by war. We are in the fight of our lives. Let’s remember that, next time we try to strip all the struggle out of our Christianity. God can’t do it all for us. We have a part to play too. Battle must be done.

I was reading the prayer of King Jehoshaphat in II Chronicles 20 on the night of Monday 21st November 2011 and I saw things I have not seen in it before. I was going to post a simple status update, but somehow it grew into a 6,300-word piece and I will not be surprised if it grows some more. Some of the material is remembered from Alan Redpath’s book Victorious Praying, which teaches about prayer from the Lord’s prayer. Because the article is so long, I will release it in 7 parts, on weekdays, with the first one appearing Monday December 12th 2011.

Please remember, I myself am an audience of my own writing. God needed me to get this too. I pray others will also receive help. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 13, 2011 in Prayer, Spiritual

 

Leave a Reply

 
